Alpha Gamma Delta · Grad School · Student Affairs

Personal Update: Excitement and a Request

The last few weeks have been crazy. Juggling work, school, and my volunteer positions is normally enough to keep me busy, but throw in internship interviews and these past few weeks have been just insane.

Going through the internship process with ACUHO-I, NACA, and NODA (yes, I did all three) was a wonderful experience. I know that I want to work at a small, probably private, school after graduation, so I loved having the opportunity to talk to all of the institutions, many of which no one ever hears about. I ranked my choices, but honestly, I think I would have been happy interning at any of the institutions. However, there were two specifically that I just could not stop thinking about. They were very different internships at very different institutions in very different parts of the country. I went back and forth for a week, agonizing about what I would do if I received offers from both. At any point on any given day, I probably told every person I talked to a different answer; I was that indecisive. Eventually, I did get offers from both places. I know, this is a good problem to have. I went with my gut and accepted the offer I thought would give me the best possible experience. It is difficult to reject an offer from an institution you really like, but it would have happened regardless of which position I chose.

I ended up accepting an offer through ACUHO-I at….Willamette University! I am so beyond excited to be spending my summer at this institution in Salem, Oregon.

Seriously. This campus is gorgeous.

In less exciting news, my volunteer work has also added to my unusually busy week. I volunteer as a Chapter Advisor for my sorority, Alpha Gamma Delta, at our Zeta Upsilon Chapter-Northern Michigan University. I do this remotely, which comes with its own challenges, but the chapter members make it so rewarding. Last Friday, two of our members were in a serious car accident that left them in the ICU for several days. They have since been moved, but one has a broken pelvis and had a collapsed lung, the other has a broken arm and is currently paralyzed from the breast bone down. The paralysis is not permanent, and she already is starting to regain some feeling! We are so thankful they are both alive and making improvements every day, but they each still have a long road to recovery ahead of them. This is where the personal request comes in. We want the women and their families to focus on their recovery, not their medical expenses. For this reason, we have two online donation sites set up. If anyone would like to contribute, their donation sites are:
Abby – http://www.gofundme.com/mnw8so
Eliza – http://www.gofundme.com/mh4t6c 
Even if you cannot donate, please keep these two young women in your thoughts and prayers. They are strong, beautiful women who can overcome anything that is thrown at them. They have made huge improvements over the past few days, but they can use all of the love and support they can get.

10959543_10153156199523793_7918942075016684212_n

Leave a comment